Global Peace Photo Award


© Michel Bouvet

Culture of Solidarity is the bracket for those exhibitions the festival is showing outside of Baden – in Tulln, Celje and Bratislava. While in Bratislava a best-of-retrospective of the festival is presented as part of the Month of Photography, in Tulln and in Celje the festival is flying the flag for peace.

The Global Peace Photo Award recognizes and promotes photographers from all over the world whose pictures capture human efforts towards a peaceful world and the quest for beauty and goodness in our lives. The award goes to those photographs that best express the idea that our future lies in peaceful coexistence.

Inner peace, peaceful coexistence, peace within a community, peace between nations, international policy of peace – what do we associate with all this? As many important photography awards focus on the conflicts and crises, the wars and catas-trophes on our planet, professional awards do not normally highlight what other things humans are capable of. The Global Peace Photo Award, launched in 2013 as the Alfred Fried Photography Award, fills
this gap: it shows the various facets of peacefulness and completes the image of humans by adding their good sides. It honors the pictures which tell about successes rather than failures, of empathy rather than hatred, of things worth preserving rather than destruction, of encouragement rather than agony and
of the human right to beauty.

The Global Peace Photo Award for the best photo of peace is not an award for escapism, wildflower meadows and sunsets or an award for the sweetest smile,
nor does it criticize the informative reportage photography which by nature depicts the misery of our world. It is, however, an award which encourages professional photographers to visualize on the highest level what inspires hope: from private efforts to support refugees to meaningful development aid, from pictures of personal happiness to examples of community spirit, from fighting poverty to a successful nature conservation project, from permitted withdrawal to peaceful niches to an enthusiastic rebellion against injustice, from important advances in medicine and in environmental protection to the reconstruction of cities in ruins. The Global Peace Photo Award celebrates the ability of humans to be caring and supportive. Inspired by Austrian Nobel Peace Laureates 1911 Alfred Fried and Tobias Asser, it celebrates all kinds of pacifism and disarmament of individuals and society as a whole.

In cooperation with Garten Tulln and Digitalna Kamera in Celje, Slovenia

Visitor Center

Tourist Information Baden
Brusattiplatz 3, 2500 Baden bei Wien

MO - FR 9.00 - 18.00hrs
SA, SU, Holidays 10.00 – 18.00hrs
Tel: +43 (0) 2252 86800 600

Festivalbüro La Gacilly-Baden Photo
Tel: +43 (0) 2252 42269