Cewe Photo Award

Our world is beautiful

© Michel Bouvet

Every year, the Festival La Gacilly-Baden Photo aims to showcase works that make the values of the festival even clearer and underline them. In the CEWE Photo Award, the festival has found a partner who lives these values on a daily basis and also makes them very visible with the largest photo competition in the world. The submitted photos not only show the beauty of the world, but above all its vulnerable sides that are worth protecting. Christian Friege from CEWE: “For us, sustainability is a continuous process between economic success, environmentally friendly action and social requirements. All our sustainability activities are based on this triad and are part of our success model.“

In a total of ten categories – People, Landscape, Animals, Architecture & Technology, Nature, Sports, Travel & Culture, Cooking & Food, Hobby & Leisure and Aerial Photography – the unbelievable variety and internationality of motifs awakens the joy of photography. With 606.289 photos submitted from 170 countries – Austrian photographers contribute around 30.000 images alone – , the CEWE Photo Award is the world‘s largest photo competition. The jury chaired by the iconic photographer Yann Arthus-Bertrand selected the winning photos from all these submissions.

After the 1992 United Nations Conference on Environment and Development in Rio de Janeiro, Yann published his book The Earth from Above and founded the GoodPlanet Foundation, which has set itself the task of raising public awareness of environmental issues and implementing climate protection programmes.

The CEWE Photo Award also pursues a good cause: CEWE donated 10 cents to the SOS Children‘s Villages worldwide for every photo submitted – a total sum of € 60.628,90 in 2021.

For the festival, the curators edited the works of the following photographers: Andreas Vomacka, Arnold Mariacher, Barbara Seiberl-Stark, Beate Riedmann, Cor Boers, Hans Lahodny, Hartmut Schwarzbach, Josef Gusenbauer, Josef Hinterleitner, Josef Kastner, Julian Rad, Kurt Hohenbichler, Manfred Voss, Marlies Asamer-Fuchs, Matthäus Schmid, Petra Jung, Philipp Kling, Romana Koller, Rudolf Neuhold, Siegfried Claeys, Veronika Maierhofer, Wolfgang Kurz.

Printed and supported by CEWE

Visitor Center

Tourist Information Baden
Brusattiplatz 3, 2500 Baden bei Wien

MO - FR 9.00 - 18.00hrs
SA, SU, Holidays 10.00 – 18.00hrs
Tel: +43 (0) 2252 86800 600

Festivalbüro La Gacilly-Baden Photo
Tel: +43 (0) 2252 42269