In Memoriam Thomas Jorda

Thomas Jorda

Thomas Jorda was our friend – and co-founder of the festival.
Unfortunately he is no longer with us, we miss him very much.
We feel the need to dedicate the 2021 Festival to his memory.

Thomas, the l’uomo universale

Thomas was a baroque man, not an ascetic. His passions were all-embracing. A thirst for knowledge and education, a thirst for action, a desire to learn and to read, and a desire to pass on this comprehensive knowledge. He was enthusiastic about almost everything. Would you like a small selection? Books, pendulum clocks, comics, baroque columns, primeval crabs, cacti, Schubert’s „Die Winterreise“, Wagner’s „Parsifal“, operettas, the German language, limericks, churches and monasteries…

Thomas, the master of language

Thomas was a highly appreciated conversationalist by many, a great solo entertainer and at the same time a patient and emphatic listener. Conversations with him were never boring, but always original, witty and humorous. He had an honest interest in people and everything human. Writing texts, fabulating and formulating came easily to him, his creativity seemed boundless. He remained loyal to the Newspaper NÖN throughout his life. In his acceptance speech on the occasion of being awarded the professional title of „Professor“, he quoted Gustav Mahler: „Tradition is not the worship of ashes, but the passing on of fire“. This was undoubtedly a motto of his life: reconciling tradition and modernity, consciously living the tension and transforming it into inspiration.

Thomas, the art lover

Thomas also demonstrated his creativity as a writer and librettist. In addition to numerous books, he wrote an operetta about Paris Hilton, which was performed in Blindenmarkt. Probably most impressive was his libretto for the children’s opera „The Beautiful Vasilissa,“ which became an unforgettable first theater experience for many children. „Let me also play the lion“ was the title of one of his books about the Lower Austrian theater summer – there is no better way to describe Thomas.

Thomas Jorda was born in Vienna on December 6, 1959. Just a few weeks later, he moved with his parents to Baden, a city to which he remained loyal throughout his life.

In 1977 he graduated from the Biondekgasse (humanistic branch). Since 1977 he was a freelancer for the NÖN – the beginning of a lifelong bond with the NÖN family. Unfinished studies of law and Catholic theology.

1984-1986 Short but intensive intermezzo as religion teacher in the BHAK/BHAS Baden 1986 Editor of the NÖN in Baden.

1991 Editor of the NÖN at the NÖ Pressehaus in St. Pölten.

In 1998 he was appointed Chief of Service, in 2005 Deputy Editor-in-Chief. As head of the arts and media department, he became a formative cultural journalist in Lower Austria as well as head of the NÖN Academy. Frequent jury member, sought-after moderator. With particular commitment, he made special products successful and contributed to the further development of the newspaper – live, occasional, NÖN Geschichtsmagazin.

Promoter of female power, strong and loud voice for women. Author of several books and libretti. altar boy, communion minister, funeral director.

2004 Recognition award of the cultural prize of the city of Baden.

2011 Awarded the professional title of professor.

2014 Awarded the Grand Decoration of Honor for services to the province of Lower Austria.

Thomas was married to Beate, they have three children.

On September 28, 2020, Thomas Jorda passed away much too early.

Visitor Center

Tourist Information Baden
Brusattiplatz 3, 2500 Baden bei Wien
MO – FR 9.00 – 18.00hrs
SA, SU, Holidays 10.00 – 18.00hrs
Tel: +43 (0) 2252 86800 600
info@baden.at

Festivalbüro La Gacilly-Baden Photo
Tel: +43 (0) 2252 42269
festival@lagacilly-baden.photo

In Memoriam Thomas Jorda

Thomas Jorda

Thomas Jorda war unser Freund – und Mitbegründer des Festivals. 
Leider weilt er nicht mehr unter uns, wir vermissen ihn sehr.
Es ist uns ein Bedürfnis, das Festival 2021 seinem Gedenken zu widmen.

Thomas, der l’uomo universale

Thomas war ein Barockmensch, kein Asket. Seine Leidenschaften waren allumfassend. Wissensdurst und Bildungshunger, Tatendrang, Lust am Lernen und am Lesen und Lust, dieses umfassende Wissen weiterzugeben. Er begeisterte sich für fast alles. Eine kleine Auswahl gefällig? Bücher, Pendeluhren, Comics, Barocksäulen, Urzeitkrebse, Kakteen,  Schuberts „Die Winterreise“, Wagners „Parsifal“, Operetten, die deutsche Sprache, Schüttelreime, Kirchen und Klöster…

Thomas, der Meister der Sprache

Thomas war ein von vielen hochgeschätzter Gesprächspartner, ein großartiger Alleinunterhalter und gleichzeitig ein geduldiger und emphatischer Zuhörer. Gespräche mit ihm waren nie langweilig, sondern immer originell, witzig und humorvoll. Er hatte ein ehrliches Interesse am Menschen und allem Menschlichen. Texte verfassen, fabulieren und formulieren fiel ihm leicht, seine Kreativität schien grenzenlos. Der NÖN blieb er ein Leben lang treu. In seiner Dankesrede anlässlich der Verleihung des Berufstitels „Professor“ zitierte er Gustav Mahler: „Tradition ist nicht die Anbetung der Asche, sondern die Weitergabe des Feuers“. Das war zweifellos ein Motto seines Lebens: Tradition und Moderne miteinander versöhnen, die Spannung bewusst leben und in Inspiration umwandeln.

Thomas, der Kunstliebende

Thomas stellte seine Kreativität auch als Schriftsteller und Librettist unter Beweis. Neben zahlreichen Büchern schrieb er eine Operette über Paris Hilton, die in Blindenmarkt aufgeführt wurde. Am eindruckvollsten war wohl sein Libretto zur Kinderoper „Die schöne Wassilissa“, die für viele Kinder zu einem unvergesslichen ersten Theatererlebnis wurde. „Lasst mich auch den Löwen spielen“ hieß eines seiner Bücher über den niederösterreichischen Theatersommer – besser lässt sich Thomas nicht beschreiben.

Thomas Jorda wurde am 6. Dezember 1959 in Wien geboren. Mit seinen Eltern ist er schon wenige Wochen später nach Baden gezogen, einer Stadt, der er sein ganzes Leben treu blieb.

1977 hat er in der Biondekgasse (humanistischer Zweig) maturiert. Seit 1977 war er freier Mitarbeiter der NÖN – der Beginn einer lebenslangen Bindung an die NÖN Familie. Unvollendetes Studium Jus und Katholische Theologie.

1984-1986 Kurzes, aber intensives Intermezzo als Religionslehrer in der BHAK/BHAS Baden 1986 Redakteur der NÖN in Baden. 

1991 Redakteur der NÖN im NÖ Pressehaus in St. Pölten.

1998 wurde er zum Chef von Dienst ernannt, 2005 zum stellvertretenden Chefredakteur. Als Ressortleiter Kunst und Medien wurde er zum prägender Kulturjournalisten Niederösterreichs sowie zum Leiter der NÖN Akademie. Vielfaches Jurymitglied, gefragter Moderator. Mit besonderem Engagement hat er Sonderprodukte erfolgreich gemacht und  zur Weiterentwicklung der Zeitung beigetragen – live, zeitenweise, NÖN Geschichtsmagazin. 

Förderer von female power, starke und laute Stimme für Frauen. Autor mehrerer Bücher und Libretti. Ministrant, Kommunionsspender, Begräbnisleiter

2004 Anerkennungspreis des Kulturpreises der Stadt Baden. 

2011 Auszeichnung mit dem Berufstitel Professor. 

2014 Verleihung des Großen Ehrenzeichens für Verdienste um das Bundesland Niederösterreich.

Thomas war mit Beate verheiratet, sie haben drei Kinder.

Am 28. September 2020 ist Thomas Jorda viel zu früh von uns gegangen.

Besucherzentrum

Tourist Information Baden
Brusattiplatz 3, 2500 Baden bei Wien

MO – FR 9.00 – 18.00 Uhr
SA, SO & Feiertag 10.00 – 18.00 Uhr
Tel: +43 (0) 2252 86800 600
info@baden.at

Festivalbüro La Gacilly-Baden Photo
Tel: +43 (0) 2252 42269
festival@lagacilly-baden.photo